Jo Malone Peony and Blush Suede Cologne | The Perfect Spring Scent

11046063_10152726874567747_1613460005_o

No one loves exaggerating more than me.

See what I did there?

Anyway, If anyone is going to make annoyingly hyperbolic remarks or each week claim they have a new ALL TIME FAVOURITE product it will be me. I can’t help it. I’m often blinded by the present and whatever is in my life at the time is the BEST EVER thing in the world regardless of what has been and what I think will come.

In the midst of this strange opening to my blog post about a pretty perfume, what I’m trying to do is explain that although overstatements are my thing (do I have a thing?), this blog post and this product, is definitely not an overstatement.

Here it comes…

THIS IS THE BEST SMELL YOUR NOSE WILL EVER ENCOUNTER!

Jo Malone have pulled a lot of exquisite and nose-pleasing scents out of their (probably luxurious and expensive) bag, but this is definitely my favourite, even over the infamous Lime and Basil, although don’t worry it still holds a safe second place position. Before I attempt to describe this smell in words that simply won’t make sense, do justice to the product or even give you any better idea of what it actually smells like than you had before you knew it existed, I want to clarify that this loveliness is a little something that even the most accurate description cannot articulate. Go and smell this, seriously.

I am the opposite of a Floral fan. Flowers might be my favourite thing ever but strong floral scents have never been my thing. I have a close friend who loves everything rose scented and for her birthday I bought her a Cire Trudon Giambattista Valli Rose candle and although she loved it, it almost made me vomit. I could smell it through the packaging in my room, shut inside a drawer and it made me want to slaughter all the roses in my sight (this was around Valentine’s Day).

So trust me all you floral haters, don’t rule this one out.

Not only is this peony, which is my favourite flower but it such a beautifully mature scent that definitely does not bombard you and those around you. I get compliments from people when I wear it, but there’s nothing worse than someone walking past you and being intoxicated by the intense smell of fake niceness- this isn’t one of those. Key offenders are Abercrombie & Fitch’s Fierce and Victor & Rolf Flowerbomb (beautiful scent but too offensive in high doses).

In an attempt to avoid butchering the product with my useless description here is what Jo Malone describes it as:

The essence of charm.  Peonies in voluptuous bloom, exquisitely fragile.  Flirtatious with the juicy bite of red apple and the opulence of jasmine, rose and gillyflower.  Mingling with the sensuality of soft, blush suede.  Luxurious and seductive 

Charm CHECK

Fragile CHECK

Flirtatious and Opulent CHECK CHECK (Parent Trap, anyone?)

Luxurious and Seductive ABSOLUTELY

Congrats Jo Malone for doing what I definitely couldn’t, but as I said do give this a quick sniff when you’re next lingering in the shop, dreaming that you could tie bows as well as they do.

Buy this from the website (£82) HERE for all your dreams to come true. You can even get personalised engraving, I’m so jealous.

Do you share my appreciation for this product? Or do you have one that you’re as obsessive about as I am with this? Let me know down below or over social media.

Nancy xox

Leave a Reply

