My Morning Skincare Routine

If you guys are YouTube fanatics, then catch my latest video (below) to get the run-down on what I use daily to keep my skin moisturised and (mostly) blemish-free. If you’re a reader at-heart, then I thought I would also write the video up into a blog post for those who want to know more. I’ll also include the stoppable links at the bottom for either of you who are feeling particularly inspired.

  1. Cure, Natural Aqua Gel

A firm, new favourite of mine. This gel exfoliator is just the strangest but most incredible product I can think of. Applied to dry skin (who knows if that is right, all of the writing is in Japanese), and gently massaged into the skin, this product rubs your dry skin straight off of your face. No, you cannot feel you skin peeling away, if you didn’t know, you would probably think the product was just clumping up. For those who daily have toe exfoliate away any lurking dry patches, this is the stuff that dreams are made of. It’s cooling, soothing but oh so powerful. I only use it twice a day as recommended (I saw it on Buzzed, I have not miraculously just learnt Japanese). Bonus – just wash it away, no faff. Wipe on, rub in, be amazed, wipe off. Perfect for busy mornings.

Buy it here for £25

DSC07047.jpg

2. Lancer, Method: The Polish

A long-standing cult product of mine, this exfoliator is what I use on days where I don’t use the exfoliating gel. It’s a typical exfoliator, a thick product with beads in to help dislodge dead skin, but no less miraculous than it’s predecessor. This is, truly, the only traditional exfoliator that does anything for my skin. Most exfoliators advertise as gentle and calming. Well, this customer doesn’t want delicate and soft, I want something that going to take no dry skin prisoners, I want it all gone. It is thick and packed with beads. It isn’t runny or gloopy, it’s stiff and powerful while not being harsh. For those used to gentler, soapier products you might be shocked at how much the beads rub against your face, but it is never painful and most certainly not uncomfortable. This is best used on my driest areas, around my nose and forehead (and eyebrows- is that weird?). Remember not to scrub to hard, you don’t need any elbow grease for this baby, it does it all on it’s own.

Buy it here for £60

dsc07036

3.Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel

A favourite of almost ever influencer I can think of, this Oskia product is somewhat iconic. I’d never heard of cleansing gel’s before I found this product and they are now my latest obsession. For dry skin suffers, to be able to cleanser with a balmy product is a dream. I have swapped out that tight, crispy, almost-too-clean feeling afterwards, for a soft new suppleness to my skin. Simply buff the gel on until it melts into a fine oil. After massaging that in, I lightly splash my face with water and work that in until it becomes a foamy emulsion. The only downside to this, is that I sometimes find the emulsion unreliable. there have been times where I’ve added water and it just rubs the product off. I find I do have to find the exact right amount of water to get it to emulsify. I can’t even try and describe how much water that is, it’s something that I’ve sort of had to get used to and now know how much it takes for more skin. A minor inconvenience, but something I don’t get with the Clinique ‘Take the Day Off’ cleansing balm that I use in the evening. Having said that, the scent, packaging, product power and after-feeling makes this an absolute go-to of mine. I absolutely adore it.

Buy it here for £29.50

dsc07041

4. Charlotte Tilbury, Goddess Skin Clay Mask

Charlotte Tilbury, where do I even begin. She is my ultimate beauty brand. My go-to for everything. Skincare, make-up, you name it. Every product from her line as been knock-out-the-park-amazing and she doesn’t seem to be slowing down. I actually fell in love with this mask when I got a tiny sample of it with another purchase I made. It is softening, plumping and just generally makes my skin feel like I’ve just had a facial (or didn’t sleep in my make-up the night before. Don’t judge me!). It tightens, brightens, and the list just goes on.

Buy it here for £38

dsc07045

5. Pixi, Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner

Yes, it’s true, I’m obsessed with exfoliation. Can you blame me? I love this exfoliating toner because it not only has all of the benefits and effects of a normal toner, but because of the exfoliating element, it totally feels like your skin has ben resurfaced. There is no way that I can accurately describe just what it miraculously does to my skin, so here is Cult Beauty’s appraisal.

Enriched with 5% glycolic acid – a natural derivative of sugar cane, and member of the alpha-hydroxy acid family – this gentle, exfoliating formula dissolves the bonds binding dulling dead cells to skin’s surface, to reveal the ‘new’ healthy skin cells underneath. Aloe then soothes and hydrates while oxygenating ginseng promotes cell health and skin vibrancy; witch hazel firms and tones, while horse chestnut boosts blood flow, to grant your complexion a naturally fresh and dewy radiance.

Yep, that’s about it. It does everything!

Buy it here for £18

dsc07038

6.  Eve Lom Eye Cream

I’m not sure why this eye cream sits at 3 stars on almost every beauty website. There reviews claim it’s a great, hydrating formula but didn’t radically change the appearance of fine lines. As a 22-year old, I can’t speak from experience on fine lines around the eye area, but is clear that this is not this products forte. This product is perfect for hydrating the eye area, de-puffing under-eye circles and smoothing out the skin. Something that I’ve taken for granted for years having never really used an eye cream before this one. I love the way that this feels on my eye area and always leaves me looking wide awake and like I’ve had hours of sleep when in reality I was binge-watching Tv shows until the early hours (Yes, Netflix, I’m still watching). Without sounding unenthusiastic (because, I promise, I am), this is just a really, really, wonderful cream. It does what it says on the tin. Which by the way, is not defying and reversing fine lines. It is, toning, firming, enhance blood circulation and even skin tone. Check!

Buy it here for £48

dsc07052

7. Charlotte Tilbury, Magic Cream

Ah, we are back to my spiritual home. This cream, as you will know if you watched my video, is just my indescribably obsession. Not only a gorgeously soft and spreadable moisturiser (always a good find, in my book), but mostly, just the most flawless pre-make-up base I’ve ever used. I used to struggle to find something that would stop my foundation picking up on dry patches of my skin but also not leave me feeling soggy, making my foundation look more like a layer of face paint. Because this magic cream sinks in so quickly – foundation, concealer and everything on-top looks at its absolute best and sits on the skin beautifully. It may sink in quickly, but the moisture isn’t going anywhere any time soon. My face stays moisturised and flawless all day, with no dry patches arising throughout the day to make my foundation look patchy. I can’t rave enough about this product, and much it changed how well make-up sat on my face.

Buy it here for £70

I hope you guys enjoyed this post. Let me know hat other posts you’d like to see soon, I’m always up for givings things a go.

Make sure to keep up with me on my social media too, so you can see what I’m up to 24/7, duh.

Instagram: @nancynewman

Twitter: @nancynewman94

Snapchat: nancynewman

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

