Healthy 5min breakfast

Do you really need a recipe for a breakfast that basically consists of throwing stuff in a bowl and can be eaten while applying mascara and packing your handbag?

Well, not exactly. But sometimes I get stuck in a rut for breakfast and seeing other people’s routines is a saviour. Especially when I’ve overslept and have roughly 4 minutes to eat and get out the door.

Yes, most people would just head out and grab something on-the-go but whenever I find myself in that position I make bad choices that have zero nutritional value and have me peckish at my desk after just an hour.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

This morning I was working from home so I had time to take a few quick snaps to share with you guys.

Working from home also means I’m pretty sedentary throughout the day and I’m also near the kitchen so I can make quick, healthy snacks, meaning I don’t generally eat as much for breakfast as I would on office days.

You need absolutely no kitchen skills to throw all of this stuff in a bowl and it’s the perfect solution for busy mornings.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Here’s how I do it:

You will need:

  • a small knife for strawberry slicing
  • a handful of strawberries
  • a handful of blueberries
  • a handful of raspberries
  • a handful of any other fruit you fancy (If I’m hungry I’ll add a banana on office days)
  • a few big spoonfuls of soya or coconut yoghurt
  • 1 teaspoon of milled flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon of 100% pure nut butter (no added oils, especially palm oil – Pip&Nut is a great brand)
  • 1 teaspoon of cacao nibs
  • 1 teaspoon of desiccated coconut

Method:

I mean, you don’t need my help here, essentially throw it all in a bowl. But I start with quartered strawberries and add my yoghurt to the bottom of the bowl first. Then, I layer up my fruit and spoon some more yoghurt over the top followed by the flaxseed, nut butter,cacao nibs and coconut.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Best served with: insanely strong coffee to open those tired eyes & deep breathing

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

I enjoyed the luxury of slow sipping this morning and it did wonders for my mind.

I hope you all had a wonderful and productive day

nancy

Leave a Reply

